The Wheel and the Carnegie UK Trust are proud to be working with existing networks of a number of partner organisations in the non-profit sector on this project. With 2 million Irish people engaged in voluntary activity, public benefit organisations can reach people with a wide range of backgrounds and life experiences all across Ireland.

The role of the Board was to consider reports on common themes and ideas emerging from the Conversation Groups, to help shape the content of the Vision Document, and to advise on how the recommendations of the Vision Document could be turned into action through advocacy and political engagement.


Fergus O’Ferrall (Co-Chair)

James Doorley (Co-Chair)


NB: Organisational affiliations, if any, are given for ease of identification only. Members have not been asked to represent their organisations.

Ruth Barrington (board member, TASC)

John Buckley (

Avril Clarke (Young social entrepreneur)

Ivan Cooper (The Wheel)

Sue Duke (LinkedIn)

Michael Ewing (Environmental Pillar)

Niamh Gallagher (Women for Election)

Deirdre Garvey (The Wheel)

Frank Geary (IDEA – Irish Development Education Association)

Edmond Grace (People Talk)

Jackie Harrison (Community Foundation for Ireland)

Iseult Honohan (UCD)

Helen Johnston (NESC)

Deirdre Kennedy (IBM)

Bernadette MacMahon (Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice)

Mary McDermott (Development educator)

Mary McEvoy (Actor and writer)

John McKeever (Clúid Housing Association)

Yvonne McKenna (Gaisce)

Ruairí McKiernan (

Pauline McKiernan (Ulster Bank)

Kieran Murphy (Wholestory)

Fidèle Mutwarasibo (Irish Human Rights and Equality Commission)

Nat O’Connor (TASC)

Philip Orr (writer and historian)

Andy Pollak (writer and expert on cross-border co-operation)

Liam Reid (Diageo)

Charles Stanley-Smith (An Taisce)

Jillian van Turnhout (Senator)

Barney Whelan (An Post)

Trevor White (Little Museum of Dublin)

Hans Zomer (Dóchas)

The Vincentian Partnership for Social Justice

Community Action Network

Social Justice Ireland

Business in the Community Ireland

National Youth Council of Ireland

Clann Credo


Simon Community

North and East Housing Association


South West Wexford Community Development Group